Horizon: An American Saga - Chapter 1 Movie Poster

Horizon: An American Saga - Chapter 1

User rating: 3.81 47 Reviews | Write a Review

In Theaters: June 28, 2024

On DVD/Blu-ray: September 10, 2024

R | Drama, Western | 3h 1m

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.81/5

User rating: 3.81

Based on 128 votes and 47 reviews.


  • User rating: 80 62.50%
  • User rating: 6 4.69%
  • User rating: 6 4.69%
  • User rating: 10 7.81%
  • User rating: 26 20.31%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews

User rating: July 19, 2024

This movie challenges our intellect and sharpens our focus. It is an excellent way to make 3 hours fly by in an instant. Today more than ever the wild west is forgotten and our freedom and priviliges enjoyed today are taken for granted. Thank you Kevin Costner for making this must see American Saga!!! Can't wait for the next 3 to be released!

User rating: July 19, 2024

It was very hard to follow with so many story lines. It was confusing and I had expected a better movie. Movie kept jumping between story lines. I may go to next one to see if it makes any sense.

User rating: July 18, 2024

I just dashed to my local theatre to catch the last showing of Horizon before it left the cinema. I thoroughly enjoyed the first chapter, and seeing it on the big screen definitely does the film justice, as the cinematography and scenery are sensational. In parts, it actually has a 3-D feeling. Six separate storylines are introduced, and then revisited and further developed in an ongoing cycle. You absolutely must pay attention, but the development is excellent, and I liked the fact that I needed to think as I watched. I'm confused by some reviews that couldn't follow the storylines and felt it jumped around randomly. It all made total sense to me. It revisited each story in the same repetitive order, and ended the first chapter with me anxious to see Chapter 2 to see the new developments. Mr. Costner has created a classic, timeless piece, that will probably not reach its peak until we see the correlation between the Chapter 1 characters, deaths, and storylines in the ongoing saga. As in any suspenseful series, this will take time and patience from the audience. The actors are great, and skillfully develop their characters as much as possible for an introductory chapter. I couldn't believe it when I realized the film was over. I usually make several washroom and stretch runs during a long film, but this one is so action-packed, I didn't budge. It honestly felt like an hour. Phenomenal film-making! Can't wait for the next chapter!

User rating: July 18, 2024

Waste of time and money !

User rating: July 17, 2024

This brings to cinema what Trumpers bring to intellectual conversations. Not a whole lot. What a ridiculous mess. And guess what rednecks? They pulled the August release on 2. Boo yah!

User rating: July 17, 2024

It went too long, was a little hard to keep track of all the places, people and so on, but I think #2 will tie it together. It was just not as awesome as I hoped or expected. I will give #2 a change and will go from there. I loved the scenery, and the history...so let's see what's next! I'm hopeful !!

User rating: July 17, 2024

This movie was way too long and there was like 5 storylines going on at the same time. There was a very little bit of excitement with a lot of boring in between.

User rating: July 17, 2024

Kevin Costner outdid himself! Excellent movie with awesome scenery! I can't wait for chapter 2

User rating: July 15, 2024

I can't believe we sat through three hours of torture! What a disappointment. Many other viewers made similar comments as we left the theater. Guaranteed we won't waist our time with "Chapter 2."

User rating: July 15, 2024

I hated to take a trip to the bathroom during this 3 hrs movie least I mis sone second of it - IT WAS THAT GOOD