Jeremy Northam

Jeremy Northam Photo


Date of Birth: December 1, 1961

Born in Cambridge, the fourth child of an English professor father and a potter mother, Northam was educated at London University where he majored in English before studying theater at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School.

Northam's been called the "thinking woman's pinup" but laughs at the description applied to him, referring to himself deprecatingly as "an ugly bastard!" Whatever his physical attributes, he's a charismatic stage and screen presence, as he made clear in 1989 when he starred as Hamlet at the Olivier Theatre in London before winning the Olivier award—the equivalent of an American Tony—for "Outstanding Newcomer" the following year for his performance as Edward Voysey in the Royal National Theatre's Voysey Inheritance.

As for his future, Northam says, "I'd like to think I'll be one of those actors who will be working into my 60s and 70s, someone who doesn't just get a good five or 10 years. I'd like to have a career that spans decades."

In 2003, he won two Best Actor awards for his role in Cypher (2002) from Fantasporto and Spain's Catalonian International Film Festival.

Northam's most recent films include the political thriller Eye in the Sky (2015) alongside Helen Mirren, the biopic The Man Who Knew Infinity (2015) alongside Dev Patel and Jeremy Irons, and the crime thriller Our Kind of Traitor (2016) alongside Ewan McGregor.


The Crown (Netflix) (2016)
Our Kind of Traitor (2016)
The Man Who Knew Infinity (2015)
Eye in the Sky (2015)
Creation (2010)
Glorious 39 (2009)
Dean Spanley (2008)
The Invasion (2007)
The Payback (2006)
Tristram Shandy: A Cock and Bull Story (2006)
Guy X (2006)
Bobby Jones: Stroke of Genius (2004)
The Statement (2003)
The Singing Detective (2003)
Cypher (2002)
Enigma (2002)
Gosford Park (2001)
Possession (2001)
The Golden Bowl (2000)
Happy, Texas (1999)
An Ideal Husband (1999)
The Winslow Boy (1999)
Gloria (1999)
Fu Manchu (1999)
The Misadventures of Margaret (1998)
Mimic (1997)
Emma (1996)
The Net (1995)
Carrington (1995)
Voices (1995)
A Village Affair (1994)
Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights (1992)