Barry Keoghan

Barry Keoghan Photo

Barry Keoghan was born in Dublin, Ireland, where he and his brother Eric spent seven years in foster care in 13 different foster homes. He first gained a love for acting in school, after appearing in school plays. He also used to sneak into cinemas to see films with his friends, until he was caught.

In 2011, when he was 18, Barry spotted a casting notice in a store window for a film titled Between the Canals (2011). He was cast as Aido, then began to study acting. Soon after, he was cast on the Irish soap opera Fair City (2011). In 2013, he landed a recurring role on the Irish crime drama Love/Hate as Wayne, appearing in six episodes. His next role was as Sean Bannon in the critically acclaimed feature film '71, starring Jack O'Connell.

Barry began working steadily in film after film, until he gained worldwide attention for The Killing of a Sacred Deer (2017), starring alongside Colin Farrell. The film screened at numerous film festivals and Barry won a number of awards.

He began landing roles in bigger films, including Dunkirk (2017), The Green Knight (2021), The Batman (2022) and in The Banshees of Inisherin (2022), where he was once again acting alongside Colin Farrell. The film, about friendship in a small community, met with much critical acclaim and Barry found himself nominated not only for a BAFTA, a Screen Actors Guild award and a Golden Globe, but he also received his first Oscar nomination.

Barry has a daughter with girlfriend Alyson Kierans. He's also the ambassador for the Barretstown children's charity in Ireland.

Bio photo by Liam Arthur Norris.


The Banshees of Inisherin (2022)
The Batman (2022)
Eternals (2021)
The Green Knight (2021)
Calm With Horses (2019)
Black '47 (2018)
American Animals (2018)
Dunkirk (2017)
The Killing of a Sacred Deer (2017)
Light Thereafter (2017)
Candy Floss (2016)
Trespass Against Us (2016)
Mammal (2016)
The Break (2015)
Traders (2015)
Norfolk (2015)
North (2014)
Standby (2014)
'71 (2014)
Stay (2013)
Life's a Breeze (2013)
Wasted (2013)
King of the Travellers (2012)
Stalker (2012)
Between the Canals (2011)