Reviews for Widows

Widows

Widows

Score:6 / 10
Released:November 16, 2018
Director:Steve McQueen
Producer:Emile Sherman, Arnon Milchan, Iain Canning, Steve McQueen
Studio:20th Century Fox
Cast:Viola Davis, Michelle Rodriguez, Elizabeth Debicki, Cynthia Erivo, Colin Farrell, Brian Tyree Henry, Daniel Kaluuya, Garret Dillahunt, Carrie Coon, Jacki Weaver, Jon Bernthal, Manuel Garcia-Rulfo, Robert Duvall, Liam Neeson, Lukas Haas
Genre:Drama
Length:129 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the Widows trailer


  • 9

    Widows

    Wednesday, May 1, 2019 6:02:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Enthralling

  • 9

    Widows

    Friday, January 18, 2019 9:02:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This was a solid 10 for me. I really enjoyed seeing the women become strong and independent. We loved this one.

  • 4

    Widows

    Tuesday, December 18, 2018 4:58:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    violent and non-sensical - This is beneath Viola's skills!

  • 6

    Widows

    Sunday, December 16, 2018 11:58:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Odd pacing and it makes the whole vibe of the movie feel a bit off. As others mention it is slow to start and near the end picks up the pace which is what throws the whole thing off kilter. Somehow the political undercurrent ends up not feeling naturally connected to the heist/crime portion. I get it intellectually but the two don't seamlessly flow. I was riveted by the acting however, each woman brought perfection. Brilliant! Over all worth it to watch particularly if you like Viola Davis' work.

  • 2

    Widows

    Saturday, December 15, 2018 11:28:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dislike. This is a ghetto type movie that they are using the very talented Mrs. Davis to promote. The lack of lady like mannerisms of Mrs. Davis is annoying. She's a beautiful women but they have obviously refuse to allow her to exude ( like they do other actresses) lady like qualities. Colorism at its finest. She didn't even have her nails painted. Please do not support this film. Its just another hood movie!

  • 10

    Widows

    Tuesday, December 11, 2018 9:13:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Original story with twists. Emotionally and visually arresting. Very under rated.

  • 7

    Widows

    Tuesday, December 11, 2018 1:23:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The time it takes to get to the point of the movie was a drag,but after that it was enjoyable. Viola is the greatest actor!!

  • 9

    Widows

    Monday, December 10, 2018 10:53:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Another women-go-Rambo production- but with a dark realism that lifts it above the rest. Viola Davis is incandescent again. Leem Neeson is perfectly cast against type. There plot twists and flashbacks that made me want to rewind see how they all fit together, but only when the credits are rolling. It also raises the question: What would you do if forced into their situation? Whatever the case, it's fun to watch them play it out.

  • 5

    Widows

    Friday, December 7, 2018 8:29:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    another odd version of the ocean series similar to oceans 8

  • 7

    Widows

    Friday, December 7, 2018 12:08:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great acting by entire cast all the way through. Just when i thought I've seen this storyline before there were some interesting turns that keep you in the movie until end. A little more violent than I like, and director introduction before movie, as well done as the movie is, seemed a bit of distraction and unnecessary.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

...or view more recent movie reviews ...