Reviews for They Shall Not Grow Old

They Shall Not Grow Old

They Shall Not Grow Old

Score:8.67 / 10
Released:
Director:Peter Jackson
Producer:Peter Jackson, Clare Olssen
Studio:Warner Bros. Pictures
Cast:
Genre:Documentary
Length:132 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the They Shall Not Grow Old trailer


  • 9

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Saturday, March 9, 2019 2:00:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A stunning tribute to the English servicemen who fought and gave their lives in the Great War. 'They shall not grow old' honors all those who should never be forgotten. A must see for anyone who values the lessons of history.

  • 9

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Friday, March 8, 2019 7:48:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A movie that stays with you, make sure you watch the making of the movie in the end. They had to hire people who read lips and spoke with the same accent as the characters in the documentary to get as close as the actual spoken words from silent movie footages...

  • 10

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Saturday, March 2, 2019 5:30:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Real people in real story. Shows you the hellish life experience this was in matter of fact presentation. Stay for the trailer on how the movie was created.

  • 10

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Sunday, February 17, 2019 7:17:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Visually stunning and emotionally draining. All middle and high school children should watch this movie. Remeberance Day has a more pronounced meaning for our family now.

  • 9

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Tuesday, February 12, 2019 5:11:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    OUTSTANDING, What a experience, especially in 3D. The directors explanation of how they made this movie was also educational. Putting the sound track in by using lip readers etc showed the care they had in putting this together.

  • 10

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Sunday, February 10, 2019 5:24:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A documentary, to be sure, but unlike any I've ever seen in capturing the reality of the Great War. A brilliantly executed project.

  • 10

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Saturday, February 9, 2019 7:26:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic - the amount of intricate work required to create this film must have been enormous.

  • 9

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Thursday, February 7, 2019 11:22:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Hopefully Hollywood will take note of the success of this film. After 100 years it is shocking the anniversary of WW1 went by with less attention than Groundhog's day. This film is well done and thankfully did not move at a stupid rapid pace simply to meet the needs of people with no attention span. I don't wish to include spoilers but recommend this film-especially to young people between 10 to 15 years of age.

  • 10

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Wednesday, February 6, 2019 6:06:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I had a great uncle over there who was gassed. Wish I could ask him now what it was like for him. Definitely stay after the credits.

  • 9

    They Shall Not Grow Old

    Sunday, February 3, 2019 12:00:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I became intrigued the moment I began reading of the various processes involved in producing this documentary. I had seen vintage black and white photography colourized but never moving pictures. The result is amazing, especially when coupled with synchronizing the film to a modern speed. Forensic lip readers also provide clues to actual dialogue. Mr. Jackson and his crew deserve a great deal of credit for bringing century old clips to stunning life!

Pages: 1 2 3

...or view more recent movie reviews ...