Reviews for If Beale Street Could Talk

If Beale Street Could Talk

If Beale Street Could Talk

Score:5.96 / 10
Released:
Director:Barry Jenkins
Producer:Dede Gardner, Adele Romanski, Jeremy Kleiner, Barry Jenkins, Sara Murphy
Studio:Entertainment One
Cast:KiKi Layne, Stephan James, Colman Domingo, Teyonah Parris, Michael Beach, Dave Franco, Diego Luna, Pedro Pascal, Ed Skrein, Aunjanue Ellis, Finn Wittrock, Brian Tyree Henry, Regina King
Genre:Drama
Length:119 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the If Beale Street Could Talk trailer


  • 10

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Sunday, March 10, 2019 1:22:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I rated this movie a 5, because I live in a retarded area of the country where our uneducated populace prefers Trump and fantasy to books by great homosexual writers, even when there is no depiction of such in this movie. Maybe enough fives will make the movie chains cobsider bring it to my retarded area, Stuart, FL, PSL, included consider showing it. Oh silly me, people here never heard of James Baldwin, much less read his books.

  • If Beale Street Could Talk

    Tuesday, February 26, 2019 7:14:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Only Best Picture Oscar that was not even nominated.

  • 10

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Thursday, February 7, 2019 11:45:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a beautiful movie, though it is extremely painful. However, that pain is a true reflection of America's dreadful treatment of people of color. This is touching and real and a piece of art. All white folks in America (I am one of them) should see this beautiful film.

  • 10

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Wednesday, January 30, 2019 8:49:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Perhaps the most devastatingly true movie I have ever seen. As a white woman who worked as a teacher and then a community counselor in an impoverished black and Mexican community in the 1960s in California's Central Valley, I was in and out of the homes of the children's families, knew the parents well, listened to their stories. The film tells it all, with wonderful actors, and the slow pace adds to the anguish and truth. And, as others have remarked, it still goes on. How could anyone call this beautifully filmed and acted tragedy bigoted? Among other things, it is great art.

  • 2

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Monday, January 28, 2019 12:56:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Slow moving, acting was terrible other than Regina King, ended up walking out.

  • 2

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Monday, January 28, 2019 11:23:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lousy. No cohesiveness, drawn out scenes, bigoted. Sorry I spent my money to see this.

  • 1

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Thursday, January 24, 2019 1:40:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Didn't care for the movie, but I love Regina King - even though she was so so much better in Congeniality 2 with Sandra Bullock. Her performance in that movie was Fantastic.

  • 3

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Wednesday, January 23, 2019 3:23:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was very slow. The story was good, but it wasn't done very well. The story was choppy. The should have shown things better.

  • 5

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Sunday, January 20, 2019 10:53:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I will watch this movie again when it comes out on video,because I may have missed something . I can't agree with all the great reviews . To me it was long and boring. I was fighting to stay awake and wishing for the end. A great story ,and some great acting so I will reserve final judgement until I view it again .

  • 2

    If Beale Street Could Talk

    Saturday, January 19, 2019 7:39:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Too slow just the message is good but delivery is very bad and nothing special about this movie.

Pages: 1 2 3

...or view more recent movie reviews ...