Reviews for First Man

First Man

First Man

Score:6.38 / 10
Released:October 12, 2018
Director:Damien Chazelle
Producer:Wyck Godfrey, Marty Bowen, Damien Chazelle, Isaac Klausner
Studio:Universal Pictures
Cast:Ryan Gosling, Claire Foy, Jason Clarke, Kyle Chandler, Corey Stoll, Ciarán Hinds, Christopher Abbott, Patrick Fugit, Lukas Haas, Pablo Schreiber, Ethan Embry, Shea Whigham
Genre:Drama
Length:133 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the First Man trailer


  • 9

    First Man

    Friday, November 9, 2018 1:15:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    .....a must see....

  • 10

    First Man

    Thursday, November 8, 2018 7:33:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie. It brought back memories as I remember watching the actual event on TV when I was young.

  • 2

    First Man

    Wednesday, November 7, 2018 9:48:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It could have been 1/2 hour shorter. The brooding shots of Ryan Gosling(good looking as he is) were too many and the shots of the lunar landscape could have been cut down to get the same effect. I was bored

  • 5

    First Man

    Monday, November 5, 2018 1:43:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good movie up to a point. I disliked the part where he threw the bracelet into the dark hole on Mars. That was Hollywood and made me tell people to watch it on TV save their money.

  • 2

    First Man

    Monday, November 5, 2018 7:59:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really wanted to like this movie, but it was so incredibly slow. It was 2 hours and 20 minutes of overly zoomed in shots and extreme shakey camera work. Also some scenes were completely silent for minutes on end. I wish I could have fast-forwarded through so many scenes that dragged on. Also there is no sound is space, which they failed to get right. Honestly, a movie worth your money is a Star is Born. Bradly Cooper directs, acts, and sings live in it.

  • 8

    First Man

    Saturday, November 3, 2018 9:36:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was a child when the circumstances surrounding this movie took place. I was very interested in the details of the beginning of our space program, and I wasn't disappointed. The movie was a bit slow, but I appreciated the in-depth telling that explained what happened and what NASA and our astronauts went through in the infancy of space exploration. The movie captured my attention from the beginning until the end.

  • 10

    First Man

    Thursday, November 1, 2018 9:56:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well done. Was captivated from start to end. It brought to our attention the constant stress those families were going through.. I think it would be hard for the new generation to appreciate it to the fullness.

  • 9

    First Man

    Thursday, November 1, 2018 6:59:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Made you understand how difficult the space race was & the toll it took on everyone involved. Well done!

  • 3

    First Man

    Thursday, November 1, 2018 11:45:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Such a good story but this movie butchered it. Slow, drags, depressing. The filming was too close to everyone, the mood down throughout, didn't touch my emotions at all - it certainly should have. Very disappointed, I only gave it a 2 because of the true story it was based on.

  • 10

    First Man

    Thursday, November 1, 2018 12:11:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is about how we look at and accept death. We are seeing this against the backdrop of Neil Armstrong's career and personal life. There's lots to see here including the race to the moon and also, it shows how everyone involved in making this movie is supporting the delivery of the concept of our humanness through Ryan Gosling's portrayal of a man in crisis. When I went the audience applauded at the end. Go see this one and I think there's more movies like this one coming. We are human and we need to be conscious of that.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

...or view more recent movie reviews ...