Reviews for Boy Erased

Boy Erased

Boy Erased

Score:6 / 10
Released:
Director:Joel Edgerton
Producer:
Studio:Universal Pictures
Cast:Lucas Hedges, Nicole Kidman, Russell Crowe, Joel Edgerton, Xavier Dolan, Troye Sivan
Genre:Drama
Length:114 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the Boy Erased trailer


  • 4

    Boy Erased

    Saturday, January 12, 2019 2:22:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The truth cannot be converted as the title says....mid leading title , sure u give you're sinfully lust for men as a homosexual and take Jesus Christ as you're savior, it not a easy thing to do and it not over night....sin is deadly thing and won't inherit the kingdom of heaven

  • 4

    Boy Erased

    Monday, December 31, 2018 10:11:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's wrong to want to change people who don't want to be changed. But people who do want to live a "normal" life have had successful conversions. I feel like this movie is a badly written attack on Christians. Why are they portrayed like evil arseholes - how about you try and portray a muslim like that onscreen and find out how many death sentences are taken out on you? Most overseas charities that help poor people in third world countries are run by Christians. How about applauding them once in awhile?

  • 9

    Boy Erased

    Wednesday, December 19, 2018 4:54:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie I've seen all year. Touching, disturbing, and real. The entire cast is brilliant in this movie! I love the Christian lunatics posting reviews on here when they clearly didn't see the movie. Conversion therapy is disgusting, and the fake Christians can't deal with it being brought out in the open.

  • 2

    Boy Erased

    Wednesday, December 19, 2018 10:03:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    What I dislike most is the lie that God won't love you if you are gay! He loves everyone!

  • 9

    Boy Erased

    Sunday, December 16, 2018 12:57:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Some highly emotional scenes. It shows how, a lot if times, children are more emotionally mature then their parents and parents need to self reflect too. The child is not always in the wrong just because they are younger. My fave line When Kidman was taking out her son from conversion therapy she said " shame on you, and shame on me too." She at that moment understood what pain she had caused. A lot of times parents must be emotionally mature enough to say yes, I f**ked up, and I'm truly sorry. It isn't that hard, parents.

  • 1

    Boy Erased

    Wednesday, December 5, 2018 8:15:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    H. E. L. L. NO!!! Just because certain people of the 20th century and now the: [21st Century] people, EMBRACES: homosexuals... And now dirtied up the words: gay; and marriage; and... "perverted" the symbol and element of the: rainbow; which is suppose to represent "gay" and its movement... And they take it and put it in a made sentimental movie... Don't mean its right! Nor expectable, nor entertaining...

  • 10

    Boy Erased

    Wednesday, November 21, 2018 1:15:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    An 18 year-old son of a minister is sent to conversion camp to get the "gay" scrubbed out of him. The film is rich in adult themes---the continuing view of homosexuality as sin; the conflict of sexuality and fundamentalist; the scamish nature of many treatment centers in general; the parental conflict of children's values different from your own. Nicole Kidman floats along for the first 3/4 of the film as the quiet passive wife, but as her character steps up to keep her family from falling apart, Kidman shows her acting chops and takes over the film. It's a remarkable performance. --gurubob---------------------------------------90/100

  • 3

    Boy Erased

    Monday, November 19, 2018 10:21:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lucas Hedges much more convincing as the gay teen he is, he was unconvincing as a straight teen in his other films. He should stick to playing gay men.

  • 9

    Boy Erased

    Sunday, November 18, 2018 2:06:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Powerful. As a gay male growing up in Alabama, I saw many of my friends experience the same thing. I am thrilled that we are in a place and time to talk about this.

  • 5

    Boy Erased

    Saturday, November 17, 2018 7:09:10 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Should have been 20 minutes longer to beef up the case.

Pages: 1 2

...or view more recent movie reviews ...