Reviews for 12 Years a Slave

12 Years a Slave

12 Years a Slave

Score:8.01 / 10
Released:October 18, 2013 - Toronto
Other cities to follow
Director:Steve McQueen
Producer:Arnon Milchan, Bill Pohlad, Dede Gardner, Anthony Katagas, Brad Pitt, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen
Studio:Fox Searchlight Pictures
Cast:Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, Brad Pitt, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Dano, Sarah Paulson, Alfre Woodard, Paul Giamatti, Lupita Nyong'o, Storm Reid
Genre:Drama
Length:133 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the 12 Years a Slave trailer


  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Friday, November 15, 2013 6:47:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Based on a true story, this retelling of what was Solomon Northrup's reality is often very hard to watch. It is an assault on your psyche; and the brilliance in the filmmaking is evident. The silences, cinematography, soundtrack all contribute to enhance the acting in this film. Powerful!! A must see for ALL.

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Friday, November 15, 2013 4:39:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Horrifying account of one Nan's seemingly hopeless journey from freedom, to slavery, and his attempts to re-gain that precious right. Not for the faint of heart, this movie shows all the inhumanity and violence of the south during the time of slavery. A great story, but very hard to watch.

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Thursday, November 14, 2013 9:23:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Brutally honest portrayal of slavery in southern U.S. seen through the heart-breaking eyes of a once free man captured to be a slave over a 12-yr. period. I see Oscar nominations all-around.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Thursday, November 14, 2013 2:44:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie was well acted and was an emotional roll coaster. It bought tears to my eyes and the injustice angered me. I would recommend this movie - the quote "I don't want to survive I want to live" will stay with me always.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Thursday, November 14, 2013 9:30:10 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    amazing...gripping

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Wednesday, November 13, 2013 10:17:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    SUPERB !!!

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Wednesday, November 13, 2013 7:09:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    one of the best movies I've seen, very unsettling

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Tuesday, November 12, 2013 12:54:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    very good

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Tuesday, November 12, 2013 10:38:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    touching, emotional

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Tuesday, November 12, 2013 6:58:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    hard to watch at times

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

...or view more recent movie reviews ...