The Power of the Dog Movie Poster

The Power of the Dog

User rating: 2.58 9 Reviews | Write a Review

In Theaters: November 17, 2021

R | Drama, Romance, Western | 2h 5m

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.58/5

User rating: 2.58

Based on 24 votes and 9 reviews.


  • User rating: 6 25.00%
  • User rating: 2 8.33%
  • User rating: 4 16.67%
  • User rating: 0.00%
  • User rating: 12 50.00%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

User rating: March 29, 2022

The Movie never started, it was just slow and slower. The actors were good, but were not given enough to work with. I was looking forward to seeing a good movie but was left empty and surprised at the end.

User rating: March 12, 2022

Dont waste your time .

User rating: February 24, 2022

Slow moving and I had questions afterwards, like why did Phil suddenly change towards the boy? I thought he was softening, but that wasn't it. I read the book to find out. So as far as the screenplay, it was lacking. I feel like it could have been interpreted better. The actors were okay, but I felt like they were so restricted (except for Benedict Cumberbatch). Almost like they were puppets. I think the director might have had too heavy a hand. Loved the ending though.

User rating: February 18, 2022

Watched this entire movie, still have no clue what is about,,, someone owes me 2 hours of my life i wasted.

User rating: December 13, 2021

Incredibly directed for character-driven tension and beauty. The acting, editing, cinematography, and score are all exceptional also. The dialogue in the beginning gives you a lot of clues for what happened before the story in the film and what happens in the end.

User rating: December 8, 2021

Such a cool movie. The payoff at the end is huge, make sure to watch all the way through, in particular what the boy is doing.

User rating: December 7, 2021

I watched it on Netflix also the first day it was available, I was so looking forward to it. I didn’t like it and am wondering if I missed something. I thought it was boring, confusing, dull and totally uninteresting. If it was any better I would watch it again to see what was supposed to make it so good but don’t want to spend the time. Other than Benedict Cumberbatch there was nothing in it for me.

User rating: December 3, 2021

I didn’t like it at all! Saw it on Netflix. Glad I didn’t have to buy a ticket.

User rating: November 26, 2021

Full of surprises and sub-plots! The acting and the cinematography is superb!