The Shape of Water Movie Poster

The Shape of Water

User rating: 3.65 303 Reviews | Write a Review

In Theaters: December 8, 2017

On DVD/Blu-ray: March 13, 2018

R | Fantasy, Drama, Romance, Science-Fiction | 2h 3m

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.65/5

User rating: 3.65

Based on 1332 votes and 303 reviews.


  • User rating: 574 60.42%
  • User rating: 58 6.11%
  • User rating: 8 0.84%
  • User rating: 28 2.95%
  • User rating: 282 29.68%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



Showing 1-10 of 303 reviews

User rating: October 18, 2019

Del Toro sucks! A vastly overpraised fatboy director of mediocrities, who's more interested in the donuts on the craft services table than telling a good story. He sucks! This movie sucks! F.U. fatboy!

User rating: July 23, 2018

Loved it! You don’t have to look alike to show kindness or affection; you don’t need to express yourself with words but actions; these are a couple of lessons taught in this movie. I would’ve preferred to see less blood but we also know how much abuse and suffering there is in our current world!!!

User rating: May 10, 2018

Best picture? Really? I don't see it. Never mind that the woman loves a fish, there's not even a gradual evolution of the love story. She meets him one day and they run away together the next. I get that it's an allegory about immigration and acceptance and all that, but the movie itself still has to be good. Quirky doesn't automatically equal good. Weird for the sake of weird doesn't automatically equal good.

User rating: April 28, 2018

Why is the monster basically retarded Abe Sapien? It looks like him, it eats eggs like him, it has empathic abilities like him... It just doesn´t talk. What an "originality"!

User rating: April 6, 2018

Del Toro - the master of plotholes and weirdness! :D

User rating: March 31, 2018

Tried to like this movie - - - I really, really did. But honestly, I didn't. And it certainly wasn't Best Picture material.....but then 2017 was not a great year for movies, so maybe it looked good compared to so many others......

User rating: March 28, 2018

Good movie, although it didn't quite measure up to the hype. The reviewer below need to take a deep breath though. Trump isn't hiding under your bed, buddy.

User rating: March 24, 2018

This is a critique of the USA -- the alienation/marginalization of those who are "different" by race, disability, species, sexual orientation, etc and what is revered in the USA -- the White man (Trump) and his power to subjugate, belittle, torture, marginalize anyone he pleases. It is frightening that such a psycho is seen as the "Man of the future". In the end love between two marginalized "others" triumphs.

User rating: March 24, 2018

Seen it 3 times already, it's that good! The visuals, the acting, the story .... so unusual and so pleasurable. An excellent addition to my bluray collection.

User rating: March 24, 2018

Best movie of 2017 by miles!! Congratulations on the Oscar for Best Picture - well deserved!!!