The Gospel of John Movie Poster

The Gospel of John

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.75/5

User rating: 3.75

Based on 238 votes and 22 reviews.


  • User rating: 147 62.03%
  • User rating: 11 4.64%
  • User rating: 12 5.06%
  • User rating: 7 2.95%
  • User rating: 60 25.32%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

User rating: January 9, 2011

I like it, it recounts the story exactly as told in the Bible. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the usual hollywood that they portrayed Jesus (handsome,distinguished from others by appearance), but it's to be expected nowadays in movies. It's my own opinion and does not take away from how well done the movie is. I do however really like the way that John the baptist was portrayed.

User rating: February 21, 2005

the movie is inspiring.

User rating: July 8, 2004

This is an awesome movie...so very well done! Cinematically beautiful, wonderful telling of the story (of course, the words were written millenia ago)...and Henry Ian Cusick is the best dramatic Jesus ever.! You`ve never seen a Jesus quite like this. This movie changed my life, it makes me cry, it is a masterpiece!

User rating: May 29, 2004

Fabulous...a very charismatic Jesus in Henry Ian Cusick. Anyone who is into the subject matter and has an open mind will like it! Never found it boring!!!

User rating: March 12, 2004

I am going to see the movie:THE GOSPEL OF JOHN on Friday here in Calgary. I saw: THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST on the first day that it was in the theatres. I was totally overwhelmed by that movie. Now, I will put together both and see the "whole picture". As a Christian who believes in Jesus Christ as my personal Saviour, I am thankful for the producers and directors that they step out of their "comfort" zones to produce and direct THE LIVING STORY of the only TRUE SACRIFICE FOR OUR SINS. I have great expectation of the RETURN OF MY LORD JESUS to bring it all to fruition. I will make my comment about THE GOSPEL OF JOHN movie at another time. G.

User rating: February 24, 2004

If "The Good News Bible™" text is what the movie is based upon, then we have is an "Alexandrian Cult" Gospel of John portrayed. Thus, it is an "Alexandrian Text" based "Christianity" that people are either embracing or shunning. Have the rest of you ever cared to research what else you`ve might have missed in your so called Christian "encounter"? Look to those who declare a text that is sound for generations as is captured in the text of the AV1611 TR-based bibles. You will find "The Gospel of John" intact, along with true Christian believers who swear by it. This conflict of texts is not new. If you do not know what the issue is her

User rating: February 18, 2004

A very powerful movie. Very accurate portrayal of the Book of John.

User rating: February 16, 2004

IT SUCKED

User rating: February 15, 2004

This was a very powerful portrayal of Jesus Christ. John Cusick did a marvelous job. One important thing to note is that the dialogue stuck very close to the book of John. I would recommend all to view it. Congratulations on a success!

User rating: February 13, 2004

This is a portrait of Jesus Christ you must see. His person, message and mission comes radically through to shake up any preconceptions you may have had of him. Producers have done an excellent job of bringing the biblical text to the screen with all of its limitations.