Gangs Of New York Movie Poster

Gangs Of New York

User rating: 3.14 78 Reviews | Write a Review

In Theaters: December 20, 2002

R | Drama | 2h 45m

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.14/5

User rating: 3.14

Based on 3109 votes and 78 reviews.


  • User rating: 1454 46.89%
  • User rating: 177 5.71%
  • User rating: 109 3.51%
  • User rating: 59 1.90%
  • User rating: 1302 41.99%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



Showing 21-30 of 78 reviews

User rating: March 4, 2003

It is a great film and portrays the period in historic accuracy

User rating: February 15, 2003

Director Martin Scorsese took a three year absense from Hollywood after making BRINGING OUT THE DEAD, and roared back with this spectacular film depicting just how brutal it was in the streets of 19th century New York. The direction is fabulous, the cinematography is wonderful and Daniel Day-Lewis`s performance was awe-inspiring. The film had a tremendous supporting cast of people like Leo Di Caprio, Cameron Diaz, Jim Broadbent, Brendan Gleeson, Henry Thomas, John C. Reilly and Liam Neeson to go with it. And this is in no way as grotesque as the critics were saying, believe you me, this is coming from a 15-year-old kid, it just depicts what

User rating: February 8, 2003

AWESOME! Those who thought it was bad: are you 7 years old? can you not sit through a good movie?

User rating: January 29, 2003

the movie was very long and could of been done in a shorter time. I really liked the music, it really went with what was going on. I will buy the soundtrack but not the movie!

User rating: January 27, 2003

It should have been about 45 mins shorter. It just drug on too long.

User rating: January 24, 2003

good movie

User rating: January 19, 2003

i can`t believe that this is a martin scorsese film. i gave it 2 stars ONLY because of daniel day lewis` outstanding performance. otherwise it wouldn`t even be worthy is 1/2 a star.

User rating: January 12, 2003

I find the movie very real and actual. Although it takes place in 19th century New York live then as it is now continues in its essence fighting over the same issues "going to war in the name of God", the story of mankind. It is a strong movie with crude scenes and a strong message. The final shot of the cemetery were the tombs of The Butcher and The Priest are shown in the foreground with the Twin Towers standing in the background sums up the message of the movie. It is a movie that should make you think and gives you a better perspective for how the world is unraviling at this time.

User rating: January 12, 2003

Another excuse for American film makers to surpass themselves in gruesomeness and grotesquery. As if we need that to get the picture... On the other hand, a great performance playing the vilain; it takes talent to trigger hate and understanding simultaneoulsy!

User rating: January 11, 2003

The fight at the beggining of the movie was coll but then it slowly became a long boring movie with a poorly thought out plot and bad ending