Ben-Hur Movie Poster

Ben-Hur

User rating: 3.58 60 Reviews | Write a Review

In Theaters: August 19, 2016

On DVD/Blu-ray: December 13, 2016

PG-13 | Action, Adventure, Drama | 2h 4m

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.58/5

User rating: 3.58

Based on 170 votes and 60 reviews.


  • User rating: 70 49.30%
  • User rating: 18 12.68%
  • User rating: 14 9.86%
  • User rating: 4 2.82%
  • User rating: 36 25.35%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



Showing 31-40 of 60 reviews

User rating: August 25, 2016

I agree it does have a slow start, but the chemistry between the two leads is so engaging, I didn't mind. I thought they did a good job of building up the suspense, actually. Good acting from Toby Kebbel and Jack Huston. Actually, pretty good acting all the way around. Stunning visuals, awesome ship battle and chariot race, and the Crucifixtion scene of Christ brought tears to my eyes. In fact, I cried through the whole last ten minutes of the movie. Brotherly love and forgiveness for the win !

User rating: August 25, 2016

We found it hard to see why this movie cost $100 Million to make. There is no comparison to the the original Ben-Hur and for those who never saw it I can see why you would give it 5 stars. One of the worst endings of a spectacle film in movie history. Camera pans down from the crucifixion of Jesus to the chariot race circus. There's more...

User rating: August 24, 2016

I really enjoyed it and my wife too. It deserves 5 stars. The story is compelling. The scenes with chariots are superb. The scene of the escape from the boat was awesome too. For me 1 star rates don't make any sense. There is just one scene where the camera was like moving with a dance but it was too short to take out a star only for that. I loved it!

User rating: August 24, 2016

enjoyed it overall; but handheld camera work annoyingly too jerky-flitty on close-ups; but long/wider shots better, as well as action scenes in race gave edge-of-seat thrills, realistic horse+chariot tumble-crashes. good storyline with ending more inline with a Christian message like the book rather than the old 1950's era hollywood movie.

User rating: August 23, 2016

Just finished watching this movie with 3 friends. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Read a few critiques reviews and wondered if they watched the same movie. The movie followed the original movie in many ways but with a surprise ending that we all loved. I seem to note lately that when critiques give a movie a bad rating and I watch it we are generally at opposite ends of the spectrum - they dislike it and I love it. Having said this it seems the others I was with came to the same conclusion for this movie. The story was well developed with good action scenes.

User rating: August 23, 2016

This Movie did a good job. But...the first 45 min. could have been done in 20 min...alot of the motions were like the camera was jerking...but still not bad..The chariot scene was really great..I would give this movie a 3.5 star...Still a good watch...

User rating: August 23, 2016

Here is my one-star for the movie. I believe I know where all the 5-star - or most of them - are coming from.

User rating: August 23, 2016

Morgan Freeman - best of his career. Did the popcorn have something on it? Or maybe it was free? Why don't the movie sponsors give us real people a break and leave it to us to put real comments about the movie here.

User rating: August 23, 2016

Great movie, I loved it !!

User rating: August 22, 2016

Astonishing! Morgan Freeman gives the performance of his career!