1917 Movie Poster

1917

User rating: 3.51 173 Reviews | Write a Review

In Theaters: December 25, 2019

On DVD/Blu-ray: March 24, 2020

R | Drama, War | 1h 59m

Thank you for rating this movie!

3.51/5

User rating: 3.51

Based on 468 votes and 173 reviews.


  • User rating: 202 45.91%
  • User rating: 60 13.64%
  • User rating: 30 6.82%
  • User rating: 56 12.73%
  • User rating: 92 20.91%


Please rate between 1 to 5 stars

*How would you rate this movie?



Showing 11-20 of 173 reviews

User rating: February 29, 2020

Nope for us even though we loved war movies.

User rating: February 29, 2020

I would suggest that those who rated this movie at one or two stars had expectations that the movie failed to deliver. It is not typical, that is for sure and shows the futility of WWI better than most. This is the real war - the grimy, uncomfortable, unsanitary conditions. Also, the tedium of wondering when, where, and how you would die. And the futility of composing the letters to loved ones at home, masking terror and trying to feign optimism. Finally, it is an absolute celebration of technical movie making!

User rating: February 29, 2020

Wow! There is so much you can talk about with this movie. There’s the amazing cinematography! The bold choice of making the movie look like one take. The the multitude of period accurate costumes. The miles of detailed set dressing. The fantastic cast, from the two leads to all the major players. The incredible special effects that were so good I couldn’t tell what was practical and what was CGI. It’s all tied together in an emotional satisfying and white-knuckle inducing stressful experience. And what do the people below praise it for? The fact that it doesn’t have any non-straight or non-white people in it. What is wrong with people? This the worst place to get a movie reviews.

User rating: February 29, 2020

No so great after all.

User rating: February 28, 2020

great movie - enjoyed it immensely

User rating: February 28, 2020

Made WW1 feel much more real and relatable to me. I was impressed the film avoid political correctness and showed what the English army really looked like during WW1. I have expected in the Hollywood of today to have shown a British platoon of WW1 being lead by a African American female LT with perhaps a few gay soldiers and dreamy poets... one can never tell what will get thrown ones way these days. Anyway, the story was decent but not fantastic. I recommend the film - it was not gory like I thought it might be.

User rating: February 28, 2020

Film makes you think on the stupidity of war and the trust that people put in following their governments directives even when it poorly serves the individual and nation to do so. A lesson to the young to avoid listening to the foolishness of 70 year olds in government and the places they can take 20 year old somethings into.

User rating: February 28, 2020

Solid film but not a masterpiece like Saving private Ryan. Well worth seeing but I would refrain from calling it great, just a solid film.

User rating: February 28, 2020

It was not really a war movie, more of a documentary

User rating: February 28, 2020

Well. No so great. Another money grabber to people who think a war movie is going to honor veterans.