Nigel Hawthorne

Nigel Hawthorne Photo


Date of Birth: April 5, 1929

Date of Death: December 26, 2001

Hawthorne was born in Coventry, England and raised in South Africa. Although he's the winner of four British Academy of Film & TV Arts Awards for the comedy TV series Yes, Minister and Yes, Prime Minister, theatre audiences in Europe and the United States will always remember him as King George, a role he created for the play, The Madness of King George. For this work he received the Laurence Olivier Award and the London Evening Standard Award. In 1995, he recreated the role for film and was nominated for a Best Actor Oscar for his efforts.

Also on the stage, Hawthorne has starred in Uncle Vanya, The Magistrate and Shadowlands, which he took to New York and received a Tony Award for in 1991.

Knighted in 1999, Hawthorne died of a heart attack on Boxing Day in 2001 at the age of 72.


Atatürk: Founder of Modern Turkey (1999)
The Clandestine Marriage (1999)
A Reasonable Man (1999)
Tarzan (1999) (voice)
The Big Brass Ring (1999)
The Winslow Boy (1999)
At Sachem Farm (1998)
Madeline (1998)
The Object of My Affection (1998)
Amistad (1997)
Murder in Mind (1997)
Inside (1996)
Twelfth Night: Or What You Will (1996)
Richard III (1995)
The Madness of King George (1994)
Demolition Man (1993)
Freddie as F.R.O.7 (1992) (voice)
Relatively Speaking (1990)
En Håndfull tid (1989)
King of the Wind (1989)
The Chain (1985)
Turtle Diary (1985)
The Black Cauldron (1985) (voice)
Dead On Time (1982)
Gandhi (1982)
The Plague Dogs (1982) (voice)
The World Cup: A Captain's Tale (1982)
Firefox (1982)
The Knowledge (1981)
Memoirs of a Survivor (1981)
History of the World: Part I (1981)
The Sailor's Return (1978)
Sweeney II (1978)
Watership Down (1978) (voice)
The Hiding Place (1975)
Young Winston (1972) (uncredited)