Julia Ormond

Julia Ormond Photo


Date of Birth: January 4, 1965

Coming from a family of artists, it should be no surprise that British actress Julia Ormond has pursued a career in theater and the arts since she was a young girl. Born in Surrey, England, Ormond grew up in a family of artists and first appeared on the London stage in Wuthering Heights before making the leap to the big screen opposite Brad Pitt in Legends of the Fall (1994). Both Ormond's grandparents were artists, and she initially intended to be one herself, but after one year of art school, she renewed her dedication to acting and transferred to Webber-Douglas Academy of Dramatic Art, graduating in 1988.

In 1989 she won the London Drama Critics' Award for Best Newcomer for her performance in Faith, Hope and Charity. Despite some reservations from critics, Ormond pursued theater credits while slowly building her reputation as a fine Hollywood actress in such films as Sabrina (1995), co-starring Harrison Ford.

Instead of letting Hollywood fame get to her head, Ormond has focused on being a philanthropist. Since the mid '90s, she's been involved in the fight against human trafficking and was appointed a United Nations Goodwill Ambassador in 2005. Not one to let her passion for art go to waste, Ormond won a Crystal Award for using art to transcend cultural boundaries, and is also a co-chair of FilmAid International, a nonprofit organization that brings aid and relief to refugees.

Although Ormond has considered directing, she's opted to remain in front of the camera, often choosing independent films over Hollywood blockbusters. Ormond returns to the spotlight with four movies slated for release in 2008, including The Curious Case of Benjamin Button with Brad Pitt and Kit Kittredge: An American Girl.

In 1999 she married Jon Rubin. Their daughter, Sophie, was born in 2004.


Temple Grandin (2009)
Surveillance (2009)
Che (2009)
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (2008)
Kit Kittredge: An American Girl (2008)
Guerrilla (2008)
I Know Who Killed Me (2007)
Inland Empire (2006)
Resistance (2003)
The Prime Gig (2000)
Sabrina (1995)
First Knight (1995)
Legends of the Fall (1994)
Captives (1994)