Jason Ritter

Jason Ritter Photo


Date of Birth: February 17, 1980

Nicknamed "Jace the Ace from Outer Space," Jason Ritter was born in Los Angeles to actors Nancy Morgan and the late John Ritter, who divorced in 1996 when Jason was 16. His parents helped him start out in the acting business, as he made his national television debut as a baby, appearing in the opening credits for Three's Company. Show business agreed with him, as he (many years later!) attended New York University's Tisch School of the Arts, where he studied at the Atlantic Theater Company. He also studied at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London.

Ritter's first film was a TV movie called The Dreamer of Oz (1990), before making his feature debut in Mumford (1999). He went on to complete films such as Swimfan (2002), Freddy vs. Jason (2003) and Raise Your Voice (2004), and appeared in the television series Days of our Lives and Law & Order, before landing a regular role as Joan's paralyzed brother on Joan of Arcadia. Strangely, he received the script of the Joan of Arcadia episode "Death Be Not Whatever" on September 11, 2003—the day before his father died. The episode aired the following November.

When the series ended after two seasons, he was chosen to be a regular on The Class, which lasted only one year. Other film roles include The Wicker Man (2006), The Education of Charlie Banks (2009) and W. (2008).

In 2016, he'll appear in the comedy The Steps.

Ritter has been in a relationship with actress/writer/director Marianna Palka since 1999. Together they created the production company Morning Knight, Inc.


The Steps (2016)
About Alex (2014)
The Big Ask (2014)
The End of Love (2013)
A Bag of Hammers (2012)
Morning (2012)
The Brooklyn Brothers Beat the Best (2011)
The Perfect Age of Rock 'n' Roll (2009)
The Deal (2009)
The Education of Charlie Banks (2007)
Peter and Vandy (2009)
W. (2008)
The Wicker Man (2006)
Our Very Own (2005)
Happy Endings (2005)
Raise Your Voice (2004)
Freddy vs. Jason (2003)
Swimfan (2002)
Earth Day (2001) (voice)
Mumford (1999)