Gaby Hoffmann

Gaby Hoffmann Photo


Date of Birth: January 8, 1982

Birth name: Gabriella Mary Hoffmann

This Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania native took little time getting started in her career. Hoffman began acting in commercials at four to help pay the family bills but got tired of the work and quit. At six, she got back into the business and made her first film with 1989's Field of Dreams followed by Uncle Buck. A year later, when her Uncle Buck co-star Macaulay Culkin proved that kids could be millionaires with Home Alone, her interest was suddenly renewed!

During the early 90's, Hoffman went to work on a number of television projects. From the short-lived television series, Someone Like Me (1994) to the TV movie Freaky Friday (1995), Hoffman returned to feature films to seek out better success.

Since then, she has continued to work steadily and has had both hit and miss results. She has appeared in films ranging from Sleepless in Seattle (1993) to 200 Cigarettes (1999). In between, she also appeared in Now and Then (1995) with Thora Birch, Devon Sawa and her best friend Christina Ricci. Hoffman loved working with Nora Ephron, who directed This Is My Life and Sleepless in Seattle, as well as with co-stars Tom Hanks, Mel Gibson, and the late John Candy, but found Kevin Costner "bossy."

Up until the summer of 1993, Hoffman had lived her entire life with her mother and half sister Alexandra at New York's notorious Chelsea Hotel. They left in July 1993 after a longtime dispute with the management.

Now that she and her mother are settled with their two Eskimo dogs in California, Hoffman says she misses her former home. She recently starred alongside Michael Cera in Crystal Fairy (2013) and played a supporting role in Wild (2014) opposite Reese Witherspoon.


Wild (2014)
Crystal Fairy (2013)
Black and White (2000)
Coming Soon (1999)
200 Cigarettes (1999)
Snapped (1998)
Strike! (1998)
Volcano (1997)
Everyone Says I Love You (1996)
Now and Then (1995)
Sleepless in Seattle (1993)
The Man Without a Face (1993)
This Is My Life (1992)
Field of Dreams (1989)
Uncle Buck (1989)