David Thewlis

David Thewlis Photo


Date of Birth: March 20, 1963

Born in Blackpool, England, Thewlis leapt into the big time with his multi award-winning performance as the vagabond with verbal diarrhea in Naked (1993).

He's also a talented writer, having written plays for the National Theatre and New Vic, a BAFTA-nominated film short for Channel Four in England, and a full length film, Cheeky (2003), which was shown at the Toronto International Film Festival.

As well as all this, Thewlis also has the dubious distinction of being banned from ever setting foot in China after the Chinese authorities took offense at his co-starring role opposite Brad Pitt in Seven Years in Tibet (1997).

In the mid 2000s, he appeared in Ridley Scott's Kingdom of Heaven (2005) opposite Orlando Bloom and with Colin Farrell in The New World (2006). He also had an ongoing role as Professor Lupin in the Harry Potter films.

Moving into the 2010s, he acted in Luc Besson's film The Lady (2012) playing the role of the husband to famous female Burma politician Aung San Suu Kyi. He also nabbed parts in RED 2 (2013) with Bruce Willis and Helen Mirren, The Zero Theorem (2013) with Christoph Waltz, the Oscar-winning Stephen Hawking biopic The Theory of Everything (2014) with Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones, and Legend (2015), which is a biopic chronicling twin gangsters Ronald and Reginald Kray featuring Tom Hardy.

Most recently, David worked on the series Fargo in 2017 as V.M. Vargas and played a character in Wonder Woman with Gal Gadot.

Always jumping from one interesting character to another, Thewlis says, "I don't think there's any reason to lose my integrity since I can make a perfectly decent, honorable living by keeping it."


The Mercy (2017)
Wonder Woman (2017)
Regression (2015)
Anomalisa (2015)
Legend (2015)
Macbeth (2015)
The Theory of Everything (2014)
Stonehearst Asylum (2014)
Queen & Country (2014)
The Fifth Estate (2013)
The Zero Theorem (2013)
RED 2 (2013)
War Horse (2011)
The Lady (2011)
Anonymous (2011)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (2011)
London Boulevard (2010)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010)
Mr. Nice (2010)
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009)
Veronika Decides to Die (2009)
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (2008)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)
The Inner Life of Martin Frost (2007)
The Omen (2006)
Basic Instinct 2 (2006)
The New World (2005)
All the Invisible Children (2005)
Kingdom of Heaven (2005)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)
Timeline (2003)
Cheeky (2003)
Goodbye Charlie Bright (2001)
Gangster No. 1 (2000)
The Miracle Maker (2000)
Whatever Happened to Harold Smith? (1999)
Besieged (1998)
Divorcing Jack (1998)
The Big Lebowski (1998)
Seven Years in Tibet (1997)
American Perfekt (1997)
The Island of Dr. Moreau (1996)
DragonHeart (1996)
James and the Giant Peach (1996)
Restoration (1995)
Total Eclipse (1995)
Black Beauty (1994)
Naked (1993)
The Trial (1993)
Damage (1992)
Afraid of the Dark (1991)
Life Is Sweet (1990)
Resurrected (1989)
Vroom (1988)
Little Dorrit (1987)