Arnold Vosloo

Arnold Vosloo Photo


Date of Birth: June 16, 1962

Born in a theatrical family in Petoria, South Africa, Vosloo has been acting since he was a child. He trained with the PACT Theater Group school in Petoria and attended the Gunrunner Combat School. While in South Africa, he performed in a number of plays, winning several awards (including the prestigious Dalro) for his efforts and worked in a number of films to raise money for his itinerant theater group.

Leaving Africa for the States, Vosloo performed in the theatrical production Born in the R.S.A.. After the production ended, he went to Hollywood to try his luck at feature film work. His skills impressed casting directors and he won parts from three of the first four auditions he attended. Taking supporting roles in films like 1492: Conquest of Paradise, Hard Target and the TV film Salome, he decided to remain in the States, and in 1988 he became a U.S. citizen.

Vosloo next took on the Darkman/Peyton Westlake character where Liam Neeson left off, and created two sequel movies to the popular Darkman film. Although his turn as the disfigured scientist was in no way as popular to the initial film, he gained recognition for his performance.

After the next few years in the shadows, Vosloo hit pay dirt, playing the evil yet tormented mummy, Im-Ho-Tep in the blockbuster film The Mummy. The strong showing convinced filmmakers to make a sequel, The Mummy Returns, in which Vosloo returned in his character.

Equally at home on the small screen, Vosloo has appeared in American Gothic and Nash Bridges and had a regular role as Vincent Siminou on the short-lived ABC-TV drama series Veritas: The Quest, which debuted January 27, 2003 and was filmed in Canada.

He has been married to second wife Sylvia since 1998.


Agent Cody Banks (2003)
Endangered Species (2002)
Global Effect (2002)
Warrior Angels (2002)
The Mummy Returns (2001)
The Mummy (1999)
The Progeny (1999)
Rough Draft (1997)
Zeus and Roxanne (1997)
Darkman III: Die Darkman Die (1996)
Darkman II: The Return of Durant (1994)
Hard Target (1993)
The Finishing Touch (1992)
1492: Conquest of Paradise (1992)
Buried Alive (1990)
Circles in a Forest (1990)
Living to Die (1990)
The Rutanga Tapes (1990)
Reason to Die (1989)
The Revenger (1989)
Act of Piracy (1988)
Gor (1988)
Saturday Night at the Palace (1987)
Skeleton Coast (1987)
Steel Dawn (1987)
Boetie gaan border toe (1984)