Reviews for Underwater

Underwater

Underwater

Score:4.87 / 10
Released:
Director:William Eubank
Producer:Jenno Topping, Peter Chernin, Tonia Davis
Studio:20th Century Fox
Cast:Kristen Stewart, Vincent Cassel, Jessica Henwick, John Gallagher Jr., Mamoudou Athie, T.J. Miller
Genre:Action/Adventure
Length:95 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the Underwater trailer


  • 1

    Underwater

    Wednesday, February 12, 2020 6:43:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The suspense was riveting, that's about it. The visuals were unclear, the reasons for the attacks were never explained. Do lesbians understand that they can no longer act as a heterosexual girlfriend. Ask Ellen, it's true. Christian Stewart just isn't believable. She makes a great Justin Bieber however.

  • 2

    Underwater

    Friday, January 31, 2020 1:51:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wretched.

  • 10

    Underwater

    Thursday, January 30, 2020 12:10:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Great Old Ones will be pleased.

  • 1

    Underwater

    Wednesday, January 29, 2020 3:33:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    These people don't resemble actors in the slightest.

  • 9

    Underwater

    Monday, January 27, 2020 3:23:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing documentary. These people look so much like actors it's hard to believe this was real. 5/5.

  • 1

    Underwater

    Monday, January 27, 2020 2:46:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Yet another terrible ALIEN rip-off (can we finally stop with these??? It's been FORTY years!) with yet another atrocious performance by Stewart, the worst actor ever.

  • 5

    Underwater

    Saturday, January 25, 2020 7:35:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's good. It's a fun riff on Alien with a clever setting change. It's not reinventing the wheel, but it's an entertaining watch with some good suspense moments and claustrophobia.

  • 3

    Underwater

    Saturday, January 25, 2020 1:57:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    aliens reboot, very predictable, trailer was created before they finished the movie, so the movie started half way through the plot with no introduction

  • 7

    Underwater

    Thursday, January 23, 2020 2:16:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My rating would be 3.5 stars but I rounded up since it's closer to four stars than three. POSITIVES: Great production design, fast moving, reasonably suspenseful with a few jumps here and there, underwater aliens looked pretty cool, good special effects, and running time was just right for this kind of movie. The makers knew what they wanted to accomplish in making a fast paced underwater adventure/horror movie and jumped right to it. So yes, for those who love movies that spend a lot of extra time on character development or who are looking for award-winning performances, this won't be for you. Not that the acting was bad or anything (at least I didn't think so), but this is not a character-driven movie, it is a situation-driven movie. NEGATIVES: Could have done more with the cool sets they built, and the soundtrack was too overbearing. There was almost always some kind of dramatic music playing and I felt like I was watching a Michael Bay movie at times. I think some moments of actual silence would have helped build the feeling of suspense and isolation. And yes, there are definitely some comparisons that can be made to the Alien movies and to previous underwater monster movies like Leviathan and Deepstar Six, but so what? I remember when Star Wars first came out and for at least 20 years afterwards every new space movie that came out was labelled as a Star Wars ripoff (except the Star Trek movies, which had their own legacy to build on). Anyway, you either like these kind of movies or you don't. I personally like them, so I enjoyed Underwater.

  • 7

    Underwater

    Tuesday, January 21, 2020 9:40:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Starts quickly with an action wow and it's off to the races. Solid small compact movie, nothing great and noble here, but very well-done. Good story, quickly paced, never boring, and Stewart is the heart. She makes this thing worth watching.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

...or view more recent movie reviews ...