Reviews for The Spirit

The Spirit

The Spirit

Score:2.87 / 10
Released:December 25, 2008
Director:Frank Miller
Producer:Gigi Pritzker, Michael Uslan, Deborah Del Prete
Studio:Maple Pictures
Cast:Gabriel Macht, Samuel L. Jackson, Sarah Paulson, Eva Mendes, Dan Lauria, Paz Vega, Jaime King, Scarlett Johansson
Genre:Action
Length:102 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the The Spirit trailer


  • 1

    The Spirit

    Wednesday, January 7, 2009 2:53:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was so bad it is really not worth the money.

  • 1

    The Spirit

    Tuesday, January 6, 2009 7:15:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I think this is a terrible film. Funny thing, when I was leaving the screening, I overheard a kid telling his buddies that the reason they all hated the movie was because they didn't get it...?!?! My message to that kid, and anyone who argues "we don't get it", is that we all understand what Miller was trying to do...we all get he was intentionally going over the top...but he failed, and the film is a stinker because of it. So the only thing we don't get is how anyone in their right mind can like this movie!

  • 1

    The Spirit

    Tuesday, January 6, 2009 5:35:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Horrible. Considering the great cast, it must be a joke.

  • 2

    The Spirit

    Monday, January 5, 2009 11:33:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This has to be one of the worst movies ever made. Not for the fact that the cinematography wasn't good, because the visuals were stunning. What made it terrible was the lack of effort or intelligence put in to the script. A room full of monkeys with cigarettes could write better material. Seriously, I have a room full of monkeys with cigarettes working on the script for the Spirit 2. It will be in theatres in the spring of 2010. watch for it.......

  • 1

    The Spirit

    Monday, January 5, 2009 11:20:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    worst movie ever.

  • 2

    The Spirit

    Monday, January 5, 2009 9:13:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Pure Garbage! I want my money back Lionsgate/Maple Films - I demand compensation!

  • The Spirit

    Monday, January 5, 2009 5:29:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    save your money, see another movie, rent a video, stick your head in a blender but don't see this movie! the previous reviews are right.

  • 1

    The Spirit

    Monday, January 5, 2009 1:27:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I've seen some bad movies before, but this one takes the cake. I walked out. My girlfriend fell asleep. truly awful.

  • 7

    The Spirit

    Monday, January 5, 2009 12:37:35 PM | (age group: 3549) | F

    I must admit that I had low expectations for this film based on reviews I'd read; however, I'm glad I paid them no heed and saw it anyways. While flawed, this is still an underrated movie that is worth seeing, especially if you are a fan of the genre. And even if you aren't a fan of the genre, you may want to give it a chance. There is a level of complexity here (complete with classical mythology references) that I have not seen other reviews give any credit to. Loved the visuals, the setting, names of characters, the femmes fatales, the costumes... It's no Sin City, but it's a fun romp.

  • 1

    The Spirit

    Monday, January 5, 2009 11:37:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    very bad

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

...or view more recent movie reviews ...