Reviews for Silence

Silence

Silence

Score:6.44 / 10
Released:January 6, 2017 - Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver
January 13, 2017 - Expands
Director:Martin Scorsese
Producer:Randall Emmett, Barbara De Fina, Martin Scorsese, Vittorio Cecchi Gori, Irwin Winkler, Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Gastón Pavlovich
Studio:Paramount Pictures
Cast:Andrew Garfield, Adam Driver, Liam Neeson, Tadanobu Asano, Ciarán Hinds, Yosuke Kubozuka, Yoshi Oida, Shinya Tsukamoto, Issey Ogata, Nana Komatsu, Ryo Kase
Genre:Drama
Length:161 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the Silence trailer


  • 2

    Silence

    Tuesday, May 2, 2017 1:02:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    lasted 15 min. into the show and left.

  • Silence

    Monday, February 27, 2017 11:14:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To be a true Christian means you will face persecution as we do in the US , we are no longer one nation under God. God is in control, as in the movie, His ways are not our ways. More truth of persecution needs to be known.

  • 10

    Silence

    Sunday, February 19, 2017 1:39:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Like very much, excelent...

  • 10

    Silence

    Friday, February 10, 2017 5:07:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was all in from the opening scene at the Japan hot-spring/hell ... I'm still thinking through what happened. I never before and want to again experience that exquisite journey of suffering... nothing gratuitous in the violence and beautifully raises the dilemma of holding faith in the face of one's own and others' agony.

  • 1

    Silence

    Tuesday, January 31, 2017 5:17:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Incredibly slow and boring. Scorsese has created some wonderful work in the past but this caused me to walk out of the theater.

  • 10

    Silence

    Sunday, January 22, 2017 7:37:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Incredibly well shot film and visually stunning. The scenes almost seem like gorgeous Italian paintings. There is no doubt in my mind that Martin Scorsese is one of the greatest artists of our time. The acting is phenomenal. This movie is Oscar worthy! Although long, it is worth it, and will leave you pondering for a long time the relationship one has with one's own faith, the fear of new faiths, and ideology vs pragmatism. A.N

  • 3

    Silence

    Friday, January 13, 2017 10:06:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Too slow. Too much voice over.

  • 10

    Silence

    Friday, January 13, 2017 9:14:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very cerebral... makes you really ponder afterwards!

  • 9

    Silence

    Friday, January 13, 2017 5:03:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Scorsese continues to make better films than people half his age, great film. Hope this'll win him his second Oscar.

  • 7

    Silence

    Friday, January 13, 2017 1:11:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A very powerful and somber movie. Very thought provoking and shines a light about a time that I never heard of before. The studios and Scorsese were very brave to back and make this movie as its not going to be a blockbuster. Its long and dark so be prepared for it.

Pages: 1 2 3

...or view more recent movie reviews ...