Reviews for Roma

Roma

Roma

Score:7.88 / 10
Released:
Director:Alfonso Cuarón
Producer:Alfonso Cuarón, Nicolás Celis, Gabriela Rodriguez
Studio:Netflix
Cast:Yalitza Aparicio, Marina de Tavira, Carlos Peralta, Marco Graf, Daniela Demesa, Nancy García García, Verónica García
Genre:Drama
Length:135 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the Roma trailer


  • 6

    Roma

    Sunday, February 10, 2019 11:54:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    to add to my review below i forgot to mention Yalitza Aparicio playing Cleo i like how she had that motherly like bond with the kids that really make your heart warm up specially with some sadness, as i love that in the movie beautiful cinematography film Roma

  • 5

    Roma

    Sunday, February 10, 2019 11:41:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    cinematography was one of the best i seen in movies up to today and love the black and white as alfonso cuarón pulls it off, but with a few issues that i think the movie could do with out like dog heads on the wall really weird and close up of dog business, and other thing i cat think off, but it was really well done as i would see it again but with the sad moments it hard to want to see it right away, but glad i saw it specially at the tiff light box in 4k but their one thing for sure is i really wouldn't want to travel to mexico and this film just stamp my decision to do so

  • 9

    Roma

    Tuesday, January 8, 2019 5:23:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved every aspect of this film! Visually beautiful which compliments the story, and the sound!! Really liked the relationship between the family and their help, refreshing as it's not the same old employer mean/employee abused treatment. I'd watch it again for sure.

  • 8

    Roma

    Tuesday, January 1, 2019 12:46:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    While I do not appreciate black and white film, it does reflect the despair felt by both female protagonists. This film has heart, and draws on yours to illicit empathy for Cleo. The birth scene is heart wrenching. Water is a recurrent theme. I do not feel the film adequately explores Cleo's emotional state. Also, a deceitful cliche is used to briefly explain abandonment.

  • 6

    Roma

    Saturday, December 29, 2018 6:20:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great cinematography. However, very superficial treatment of class and gender issues. Very overrated.

  • 9

    Roma

    Monday, December 17, 2018 12:23:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's a masterpiece--has the depth and integrity of the great silent films. Must see and hear on the big screen with surround sound.

  • 10

    Roma

    Sunday, December 9, 2018 6:26:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Saw it today down at TIFF. Excellent movie! Really worth seeing it on the big screen for the sound alone.

  • 10

    Roma

    Friday, December 7, 2018 7:03:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Masterpiece

...or view more recent movie reviews ...