Reviews for Ladies in Lavender

Ladies in Lavender

Ladies in Lavender

Score: write a review
Released:May 27, 2005
Director:Charles Dance
Producer:Nick Powell, Nicolas Brown, Elizabeth Karlsen
Studio:Odeon Films
Cast:Judi Dench, Maggie Smith, Natascha McElhone, Toby Jones
Genre:Drama
Length:103 minutes
  write a review
photos


  • Ladies in Lavender

    Saturday, August 26, 2006 10:42:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    excellent,story,,,,,,,brilliant acting.especially judy dench,,,,,,,gorgeous scenery of cornwall,but wish the title of the movie had been the widdington sisters instead of the irrelevent ladies in lavender,,,,,,,,,

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Monday, March 27, 2006 2:08:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved the sisters and the setting, but I was disappointed by the young man. I`m not sure how old he was supposed to be (he looked anywhere between 18 and 22, but according to his bio he was about 27 when it was filmed) but he really never appreciated anything that was done for him. It wasn`t "heartwarming" as advertised, at all. It would have been more satisfying if he`d appreciated them, after all, they saved his life and never asked for one thing in return and they didn`t look like they had money coming out of their ears.

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Friday, August 19, 2005 3:06:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A beautiful story, actors were very good. A movie without violence. Located in a picturesque area. I will by the book written by William J. Locke

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Saturday, August 13, 2005 2:08:10 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    loved the show - best I have seen in a long time

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Tuesday, August 2, 2005 10:40:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Exquisite movie.

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Monday, August 1, 2005 6:07:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I waited a very long time to see this movie and wasn`t disappointed. Truly a work of art, the two fine actresses are so worth watching. A truly remarkable film.

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Wednesday, July 20, 2005 6:11:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was inviting... it allowed ones imagination to take hold. The two Dames could not be better. I hope to see more of them together and more films like this concerning positive relations then not.

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Tuesday, July 19, 2005 1:24:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    What an exquisite film from a simple, true-to-life story! No Hollywood violence, no Hollywood NOISE substituting for plot and characters. Now where do I buy the short story?

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Friday, July 15, 2005 11:41:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very heartwarming! I loved it. How could it not be wonderful with those very excellent performers?!

  • Ladies in Lavender

    Thursday, July 14, 2005 9:32:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Artistic style. The characters are the story. Judy and Maggie develop their roles to show romance isn`t dead in the hearts of older women and they show grace and dignity in defining their relationship with the young man plucked from the sea. They set the appropriate boundaries and accept the heartache that is inevitable. The enduring relationship between the sisters conquers all in the end. Two great actresses carry the entire film with aplomb.

Pages: 1 2

...or view more recent movie reviews ...