Reviews for In Bruges

In Bruges

In Bruges

Score:8.5 / 10
Released:February 8, 2008
Director:Martin McDonagh
Producer:Graham Broadbent, Peter Czernin
Studio:Odeon Films
Cast:Colin Farrell, Brendan Gleeson, Ralph Fiennes, Clémence Poésy, Jérémie Rénier
Genre:Comedy
Length:107 minutes
  write a review
photos


  • 8

    In Bruges

    Tuesday, September 28, 2010 5:22:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    aka The Thousand Faces of Colin Farrell - will lay to rest any question of this young man's acting abilities. The movie is more than the promised dark comedy/travelogue. Fasten your seatbelt and prepare for a wild ride. Actually, it's a tragedy by definition, but provides many absurdly comedic moments along the way. Only in the twisted world of writer Martin McDonagh can a would-be killer stop his victim from committing suicide. On the surface this is a story about paid killers on the lamb, but when all is said and done it is a warm-hearted buddy film with a conscience. Even Ralph Fiennes' mob boss character adheres to his own standard of honour. And, we were amused that he did.

  • In Bruges

    Sunday, February 8, 2009 3:31:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A tragicomedy dealing philosophical and moral problems: crime and punishment friendship murder remorse consistency in ethics etc. I liked it very much. The great turn is that the nastiest figure becomes top of moralé by his suicide. One can laugh a lot on style but the final consequences are astonishing. And three big performances!

  • 9

    In Bruges

    Friday, December 26, 2008 4:50:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    great plot. great acting

  • In Bruges

    Thursday, May 22, 2008 1:52:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    this is the best bloody film ever!!! is linda sad at the end though, so if ur a sap dont watch it.

  • In Bruges

    Saturday, April 19, 2008 6:44:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awesome movie! I saw it twice and would pay to see it again, definitely buying the DVD. I'm suprised it got such a cold reception. Brendan Gleeson is great, and Ralph Fiennes is hilarious but nasty all at the same time. I was pleasantly suprised by Colin Farrell he was fantastic, and so were his eyebrows which did half the acting. Action, great dialogue, and a MIDGET!, sorry, dwarf. What else can you ask for.

  • In Bruges

    Wednesday, April 16, 2008 12:00:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wow, I didn't get what I expected. Based on the trailers I thought this would be tons-of-fun buddy comedy. Like Rush Hour, but in Belgium and without Brett Ratner to screw things up. But what I actually got disturbed me, moved me and made me a fan of Colin Farrell. That's saying a lot after how disappointed I was in Miami Vice. In Bruge takes place… in Bruges. It's a small Belgian town that's known for its slow-pace and ancient architecture. It also happens to be the best place to hide out after a botched assassination attempt. Farrell is the young, immature assassination botcher and Brendan Gleeson is the elder partner who didn't pull the trigger. Together they wait in Bruges for orders fr

  • In Bruges

    Sunday, April 13, 2008 11:26:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wait for the DVD. Slightly funny. Funniest lines are in the trailer. Slow moving and quite a disappointment.

  • In Bruges

    Friday, April 11, 2008 2:36:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    what a shame this movie didn't last longer in the mainstream. it was different, funny, had a good story and was well acted. would watch it again.

  • In Bruges

    Sunday, March 23, 2008 3:55:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Brilliant movie. I was looking forward watching this film all week, and it certainly did NOT disappoint! Very funny - but told the story well.

  • In Bruges

    Monday, March 10, 2008 1:40:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    tragically funny...this rates the full 5 stars for entertainment value. darkly humorous, great dialogue, funny moments and a few gruesome touches, what more do you need? well worth seeing, first time ive ever liked colin farrel in anything, he is superb in this. a must-see "cool" flick.

Pages: 1 2

...or view more recent movie reviews ...