Reviews for First Reformed

First Reformed

First Reformed

Score:5.17 / 10
Released:June 01, 2018
Director:Paul Schrader
Producer:Christine Vachon, Gary Hamilton, Jack Binder, David Hinojosa, Greg Clark, Victoria Hall, Deepak Sikka, Frank Murray
Studio:ABMO
Cast:Ethan Hawke, Amanda Seyfried, Cedric Kyles
Genre:Thriller
Length:113 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the First Reformed trailer


  • 10

    First Reformed

    Saturday, July 7, 2018 12:18:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    First Reformed resonates with a profound depth that I yearn for in any form of art. It is a journey that is distant from my own experience yet spoke as a wake-up call for us all to not only savor and appreciate the life we have, but to ultimately leave this world hopeful. We can all understand the reasons for despair, but the antidote for our despair comes only from grasping the brief life we have and becoming an active participant. A magnificent film in my estimation. This is not for the crowd that goes to the movies for escapism. This is a film that stayed with me for days and even weeks later, exploring the relationships, symbolism, and perfect casting for one of the most thoughtful films I have ever seen. Be prepared to think.

  • 1

    First Reformed

    Friday, July 6, 2018 2:08:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The acting was good . The story was very depressing. If a person was really down and went to this movie, they would be sadder than ever. It's a shame that anyone would think of making a movie like this. It's not entertainment its mental abuse!!!

  • 1

    First Reformed

    Thursday, July 5, 2018 12:05:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great actors. I am kind of a movie movie buff. I am selective in movies I go to but on occasion I will try something new and different. That's how I felt with this movie when I read the synopsis. Disappointed doesn't even describe how I felt about this movie. I was a waste of $$$ and 1 hour and 53 minutes. Very dark, boring and.... plot??? If this the best Hollywood can put out than they think way too much of themselves to call this worthy of production. When you spend that much time at a movie and come out of the theater disgusted and cheated because you just watched what was supposed to be an "artistic film" but was nothing more than Paul Schrader's coming of age trauma(?) with religion....poor boy.... Well, just don't go to it; would not recommend.

  • 8

    First Reformed

    Tuesday, July 3, 2018 9:47:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wondrously bleak.

  • 1

    First Reformed

    Wednesday, June 27, 2018 6:47:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A bore. Watching people whispering to each other is not interesting.

  • 9

    First Reformed

    Wednesday, June 27, 2018 2:13:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Powerful message about power and violence, ironically seen through today's church. As a friend said, discussion groups should be set up around this movie

  • 2

    First Reformed

    Tuesday, June 26, 2018 8:47:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awful, boring and with non sense. The ending is so confusing and irrelevant.

  • 2

    First Reformed

    Tuesday, June 26, 2018 7:57:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring! Depressing! Dark!

  • 3

    First Reformed

    Sunday, June 24, 2018 7:12:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A very dark subject matter with well acted movie. Not a feel good movie.

  • 7

    First Reformed

    Thursday, June 14, 2018 5:17:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Hmmmmm; Another strange movie! Enjoyed Amanda S. Nice kiss at the end. Don't waste to much time trying to make sense of everything.

Pages: 1 2

...or view more recent movie reviews ...