Reviews for 12 Years a Slave

12 Years a Slave

12 Years a Slave

Score:8.01 / 10
Released:October 18, 2013 - Toronto
Other cities to follow
Director:Steve McQueen
Producer:Arnon Milchan, Bill Pohlad, Dede Gardner, Anthony Katagas, Brad Pitt, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen
Studio:Fox Searchlight Pictures
Cast:Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, Brad Pitt, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Dano, Sarah Paulson, Alfre Woodard, Paul Giamatti, Lupita Nyong'o, Storm Reid
Genre:Drama
Length:133 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the 12 Years a Slave trailer


  • 8

    12 Years a Slave

    Wednesday, November 6, 2013 11:53:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie is based on a true story. Very emotional and hard-hitting

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Tuesday, November 5, 2013 11:04:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie, some scenes are hard to take but are an integral part of the story.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Tuesday, November 5, 2013 11:12:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie!!

  • 12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 4, 2013 10:02:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I watched the advance screening of the movie and the story of Solomon Northup still remains with me. At times very brutal and tragic, with some wonderful cinematography thrown in so you feel like you're in the South, the movie does ultimately have a 'happy ending'. I left the movie with so many conflicting emotions, and it's a testament to how well the story was portrayed that it still remains with me. A must watch movie and highly recommended.

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 4, 2013 4:19:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the best movies I have seen in years! The acting, directing, and writing were fantasic! Highly recommended!

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 4, 2013 8:19:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Heartbreaking and brutal to watch, but a must see based on a true story with amazing acting.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Sunday, November 3, 2013 4:55:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was an excellent and very well done movie, but oh so very hard to watch.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Saturday, November 2, 2013 5:26:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    an interesting movie

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Saturday, November 2, 2013 2:46:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing film. Flawless acting skills with so much emotions makes you go back to the certain time period. Cinematography was absolutely fantastic. Unforgettable long-take shots with stunning visuals. One of the best films of 2013.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Friday, November 1, 2013 9:02:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    In school I learned that slavery was brutal but until I saw this movie I could have not imagined the savagery that some people are capable of towards other people. An amazingly touching movie about the human condition that made me weep.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

...or view more recent movie reviews ...