Reviews for 12 Years a Slave

12 Years a Slave

12 Years a Slave

Score:8.01 / 10
Released:October 18, 2013 - Toronto
Other cities to follow
Director:Steve McQueen
Producer:Arnon Milchan, Bill Pohlad, Dede Gardner, Anthony Katagas, Brad Pitt, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen
Studio:Fox Searchlight Pictures
Cast:Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, Brad Pitt, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Dano, Sarah Paulson, Alfre Woodard, Paul Giamatti, Lupita Nyong'o, Storm Reid
Genre:Drama
Length:133 minutes
  write a review
photos
watch the 12 Years a Slave trailer


  • 8

    12 Years a Slave

    Saturday, November 23, 2013 11:34:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very good but some scenes were too long for effect I suspect, but instead I would like to have known more about the Canadian connection - which was brief at best. Therefore this another movie that while historically important the links to Canada and so on were only briefly highlighted.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 18, 2013 7:02:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    a powerful & moving film that reminds us that this could happen to anyone & still does

  • 12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 18, 2013 4:44:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This true story of a formerly free man sold into bondage makes for harrowing,unforgetable viewing.Chiwitel Ejiofor and Director Steve McQueen(Hunger,Shame) offer one of the best movies of the year and it is bound to be remembered at Oscar time.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 18, 2013 1:34:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    What an excellent movie!! Chjwetel Ejiofor is the main character, a free black man from the northern states who gets kidnapped and sold into slavery. The movie is based on a true story, and has all the elements you would expect - racism, slavery, intolerance, ignorance - unsettling and disturbing but true to the period. The acting is terrific, especially by Ejiofor. As upsetting as it can be, it should be seen by all. Directed by Steve McQueen. FIVE STARS!

  • 12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 18, 2013 11:30:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good movie, but could have been made a bit shorter by shortening some scenes (like when he was hanging there) by a few minutes. Very moving.

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Monday, November 18, 2013 6:43:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    excellent movie but hard to watch in places

  • 9

    12 Years a Slave

    Sunday, November 17, 2013 5:12:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Based on a true story, the plot involves a free black man who, through trickery, becomes enslaved for 12 years. It's an historial drama - bleak, depressing, and disturbing. It hosts an all-star cast with Chjwetel Ejiofor as the main character and who does a superb job, & co-stars Brad Pitt and Benedict Cumberbatch. Written and directed by Steve McQueen, this movie is absolutely a must-see, and should not be missed.

  • 8

    12 Years a Slave

    Sunday, November 17, 2013 1:00:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I saw this last night. It's based on the true journal of a free black man from New York who was kidnapped in the 1830s and sold into slavery. It is a very well-crafted movie: superb acting, excellent script and direction, cinematography was great. I rate it very highly: 4/5 stars. However, I can not say I actually 'enjoyed' it. The subject matter is gut-wrenching. When I walked out of the theater I felt as though I'd been kicked in the stomach. I don't recommend watching this if you are easily upset by the evil some people are capable of.

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Sunday, November 17, 2013 2:45:57 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    gripping, raw

  • 10

    12 Years a Slave

    Saturday, November 16, 2013 9:57:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Oscar nomination definitely!!

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

...or view more recent movie reviews ...